MicroProfile Community

Istio’s Programming Model – Eclipse MicroProfile

By December 3, 2018 No Comments

Istio, seen as the leading service mesh model, released its version 1.0 in July 2018. It has generated massive interest, judging from conference talks and blog posts. Have you ever wondered how you can develop a cloud-native microservice deployed on Istio and be confident about its performance? In other words, what is the programming model for developing such a cloud-native microservice? Eclipse MicroProfile comes to the rescue.

In this Virtual Eclipse Community Meetup, which will take place on December 11, 2018 at 11am Eastern Standard Time, Emily Jiang and Heiko Rupp, two prolific MicroProfile community members, will delve closely on the MicroProfile specifications and demonstrate how MicroProfile can help microservices perform well on Istio and utilize Istio features with a live demo. After this session, you should understand Istio and MicroProfile and be able to design a simple microservice using these two groundbreaking technologies.

The MeetUp will be held on Google Hangouts and you will be able to watch the live stream directly on YouTube.

This is a virtual Meetup occurring at 11AM Eastern Time (8AM Pacific Time, 5PM Central European Time). For help with your timezone calculation, refer to this (https://time.is/compare/0800_11_Dec_2018_in_PT).

Join the webinar here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYIEU2P7v9g

Join the conversation: #VirtualEclipse

Presenters: Emily Jiang and Heiko Rupp

Host: Stephanie Swart

Cesar Saavedra

Author Cesar Saavedra

More posts by Cesar Saavedra

Leave a Reply